PDA

View Full Version : College Tennis and Major

pro_staff
07-04-2009, 07:21 PM
I'm planning on playing for a decent Div II team in California. I'm also majoring in Biology. Since this is a high unit major, I don't know if I'll have enough time for both. If anybody played Div II tennis, what did you major in and did you have enough time to do both?

tennismom42
07-04-2009, 09:28 PM
If you google the words, "tennis biology" or "biology tennis," you will find some mention of others (male & female) who are doing it at all division levels. Perhaps you could contact one of them through Facebook.

I don't think you should hone in so much on "tennis + biology." I think any sport + biology is a big load. Perhaps you can ask athletes from other sports about their biology course load.

goran_ace
07-06-2009, 07:33 AM
I majored in biology and played DI tennis. It is possible. The hardest things about doing that are scheduling practices around labs and sticking with it when you feel like everyone else has it easier and is passing you by. Once you get to the 300/junior-senior level some electives don't have multiple sections and can take up 4 hour blocks of your afternoon. I had to miss practice one day a week, which may affect your playijng time or position in the lineup. Keep in mind that your professors really don't care how you do on the court, and your coach really doesn't care how you do in the classroom (as long as you stay academcially eligible). Don't expect favors from either and you won't feel slighted.

pro_staff
07-06-2009, 04:13 PM