PDA

View Full Version : clay sliding tips

chiru
07-09-2009, 02:26 PM
Hi, i just started playing on clay for the first time. I can't slide to save my life. I tried to look for other tips on the forum but couldn't find any. any ideas?

ronalditop
07-09-2009, 04:29 PM
first of all, clay has to be completely dry to be able to slide on it, because if its a little wet, its almost impossible to slide.

chiru
07-14-2009, 01:53 PM
it seems to be dry to me, however it's humid around here. couple things: 1) red clay is watered isn't it? 2) i'm playing on har tru not on red. is that significantly harder to slide on?

h7hugo
07-14-2009, 03:03 PM
you can even slide on grass so slide on clay is simple.. anyone in this forum can explain to you how to slide, not even if you see videos on youtube. Do to the court, and after you picked up the racquet, runa litle and try to slide to the front. With time, try slide sideways..

ronalditop
07-14-2009, 06:03 PM
today i was playing in a in a clay court that was dry in the baseline and in the middle but a little humid close to the net. So i was runnning to get a very good drop my friend hit and i decided it was better to slide because if not i could touch the net, so as im beginning to slide my right foot got completely glued to the ground and that made me stumble, but i managed to avoid falling down. I lost the point btw.

mikeler
07-15-2009, 05:54 AM
It took me several months before I finally got the hang of it. Don't think about it for now, eventually it will just come naturally.

Nellie
07-15-2009, 07:22 AM
If you want to be a good clay courter, slide into the shot, so that you can recover. If you hit the shot and then slide, you will be off the court and will lose the point. So you need to practice stopping well before the shot, unlike a hard court

chiru
07-15-2009, 10:57 AM