PDA

View Full Version : Help with my serve, please.

ser_renely
07-12-2009, 12:13 PM
I am a self taught player, that has been really getting into tennis the past 2 years. I saw people helping each other out here for videos so I though I would seek help on my serve first. I can't get any lessons where I live...actually I can't find many people to play against that are decent :(.

Here are some shots of me serving, it is the weakest part of my game since I have only recently been able to start serving in the past year, constant shoulder issues and I have only practiced it a few times. My power is a little bit less on these since going through another shoulder issue, and not serving a flat bomb; Looks like they go so slow in the video.

So help and criticize please.

Video 1
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DzXdm2z9i50
Video 2 - sideways...can't get it to rotate?!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g4HoYprXmVI

volusiano
07-12-2009, 12:56 PM
You need some knee bends for sure. You also seem to rush through your serves, too. Slow down a little bit.

Don't see why you had to put the second video in there when it doesn't look much different than the first. Don't bother posting if you can't rotate it.

ser_renely
07-12-2009, 01:02 PM
Thanks.

I do think I am using all arms and abs, and not bending and rotating as I should. Any tips to work on knee bending?

In hindsight I had no idea I was going that fast through them, the power of a mirror I guess. Will take more time.

I had no idea if the second video would show something different, only reason it is there.

volusiano
07-12-2009, 02:03 PM