PDA

View Full Version : Mixed Doubles Etiquette?

conditionZero
07-13-2009, 08:46 AM
My wife and I play 6.0 mixed doubles. I only started playing tennis after I met her and so most of the rules of etiquette I learned from her.

Nothing makes her more mad then when the man on a mixed team serves his hardest to the woman on the other side. In my experience about 1/3 of the people we play against do this. It really only seems like a problem in combo leagues when the man is a 3.5 and has a pretty hard serve, which can be a lot for a 3.0 woman to handle.

Is this considered proper etiquette everywhere? If so, at what level do you abandon it?

Just for the record, I personally believe this is a silly unwritten rule. If a woman is playing tennis with a man on the opposing team she should expect more powerful shots, especially since once the ball is served there seems to be no unwritten rule against hitting ground strokes as hard as you can. That said, I don't serve my hardest to the opposing woman (not that it would bother her) and try to avoid any hard shots at her when she's playing the net.

Any thoughts?

raiden031
07-13-2009, 08:56 AM
There are numerous threads exactly like this on the board.

There is no unwritten rule about hitting to the woman in mixed. If a woman can't handle the added pace, they shouldn't be playing mixed. That is why they have women's leagues. I have yet to meet someone in real life who has a problem with men hitting hard in mixed, thats why I'm curious why this topic comes up so much here.

Swissv2
07-13-2009, 09:01 AM
In powder puff social tennis, sure - you don't have to hit as hard, but in competition or competition practice both mixed doubles should make an effort to hit normally.

PeppermintMocha
07-13-2009, 09:08 AM
I competition, mixed doubles etiquette is same as doubles etiquette, imo. Like Raidon said, I've yet to meet a woman who actually got mad/upset when a guy's hitting hard at her during a mixed doubles match.