PDA

View Full Version : What About SpeedBall?

ktowntennis
04-07-2004, 08:08 PM
I am a newly certified teaching pro and I am considering investing in SpeedBalls (foam training balls) as a teaching aid. I would like to hear from any other teaching pros out there regarding the pros and cons of using SpeedBalls for teaching purposes.

Bungalo Bill
04-08-2004, 09:24 AM
Can you clarify "speed ball". That term has been used for different things.

Are you talking about the Pro Penn Stars ball? Or are you talking about that weird shaped Z-ball that bounces in different directions? I have used both and just want to be sure we are talking about the same thing. Or maybe your talking about something I have not heard of.

jagmeister
03-07-2005, 07:50 PM
I believe he is referring to the Dunlop Speed Ball. It is an oversized nerf ball that many young very beginners use to develop their strokes.

Geezer Guy
03-08-2005, 10:12 AM
I'm not a pro, but I've seen the pro's at our club use them fairly often with different levels of players. They can hit the ball hard, yet control it, and keep rallys going a long time.

raftermania
03-08-2005, 12:48 PM
Hi, we used these Dunlop Speedballs when we toured some elementry schools in my city. The kids love them, sort of a misnomer calling them "speed" balls because they are a lot slower than regular tennis balls.

I'd say they would ideally suit the youngsters because of their foam nature. Adults, I'd think would feel unconfortable not playing with the "real thing." The speedballs are soft and slower, which helps children's poor coordination skills adapt to the physics of the ball. Also, other children can be hit by these balls without casualty.

I definitely recommend these balls for the young beginners. They help reduce the large amount of unforced errors which discourage and frustrate a lot of kids out of tennis. If my memory serves me, I think I saw them listed on TW.

FiveO
03-08-2005, 12:57 PM
Raftermania,