PDA

View Full Version : Need some tips

mikesfr
07-13-2009, 09:23 PM
I started playing tennis a couple years ago, and my strokes are finally becoming more consistent. I play really well when practicing. My problem though is with singles matches. (I play in a club, but I've never had anyone rank me, and I really don't know what I'd rank myself)

I often start out the set playing aggressively and I usually win the first game. After that though, it goes downhill. I don't know if I just relax too much, if I try to hurry too much, or if I tense up. I will get to 40-15 and end up at deuce. This happens with almost every opponent I play, and I hang on pretty well but almost always lose the deuce. (the deuce usually lasts quite a long time). When it is my game point I think about the point waaaaay too much and that usually leads to me hitting the ball in the net. I almost always either over-think or just relax too much when it's my game point.

Then I'm pretty sure what happens is I just tense up. I'm not comfortable with hitting my normal shots and I make tons of errors. Does anyone have tips that could help me focus and keep the aggresiveness, or maybe to not tense up so much?

SethIMcClaine
07-13-2009, 10:08 PM
I started playing tennis a couple years ago, and my strokes are finally becoming more consistent. I play really well when practicing. My problem though is with singles matches. (I play in a club, but I've never had anyone rank me, and I really don't know what I'd rank myself) visit this link to get a judgement of what your rank is http://www.usta.com/?sc_itemid={A9EAE203-D273-4CB1-9038-5A293C5ED642}