PDA

View Full Version : Coaching advice required

Failed
07-14-2009, 10:21 AM
Okay then, got two adults who would like to take up tennis. These guys have never really played tennis before so you could say that they are complete beginners. I promised to teach them some basic stuff tomorrow and here is what I thought about doing.

Should I teach beginners 2HBH or 1HBH or just the forehand at first time?

1. Teach them the SW grip and the Cont grip and what specific shots they are used for
2. Make them rally in the servicebox
3. Feed balls to their forehand and analyze their technique a bit and give them pointers here and there but not giving them a lecture about the mechanics of WW forehand.
4. Teach them the basics of serve and show few example serves and then make them hit a few

Is this simple enough for a starter?

wihamilton
07-14-2009, 10:28 AM
I'd go w/an eastern forehand grip and classic mechanics (as you said, don't mention the WW). You should probably start them at contact so they understand what that body / racket position looks and feels like.

LeeD
07-14-2009, 10:33 AM
Would depend on their background, experience, and skill at ball sports.
If they were baseball players, they're trained, have hand/eye, can react. Same with football (if they touched the ball), basketball, handball, and other racket sports. They would be easy to train and get started.
But for non athletes, guys who didn't play school sports, you gotta really stay on top of their strokes, balance, posture, awareness, and movement.
Once they actually hit back and forth a few times, you gotta stand back and allow them to work on their strokes without interuptions...until an obvious flaws develop.
Some need direct teaching, some need secondhand lessons (like vids), some need to try it on their own based on their previous sports experience.

ubermeyer
07-14-2009, 05:50 PM
2hbh is probably better for beginners. teach them classic forehand first

pvaudio
07-14-2009, 06:52 PM