PDA

View Full Version : Doubles Strategy Discussion with Partner before League Matches

Ajtat411
07-14-2009, 01:31 PM
The combo league season is starting up in a week and I wanted to know what you guys think about doubles strategies.

This is my first year playing league, but from what I understand when match day comes, you're paired up with someone you may or may not have played with.

As far as strategy, do you talk to your partner about what your formation will be, general goals, signs? This is for 6.5/7.5 Combo leagues I'll be playing.

I'm asking because when I play a pickup game at the club, there's usually very little communication between my teamate or anyone, except for the ocassional "good shot" or "it's ok".

What I want to do is pickup one of those small 4x8 dry erase whiteboards and add some pinstripe tape and create a mini-court so I can diagram out some plays or strategies before the game or during breaks. Has anyone done this or is this overkill?

CLIFF NOTES- My list of helpful tips from TT members

1. (Everyone) Bringing a small whiteboard to matches will look stupid and be of little use. Just talk to your partner or practice ahead of time.

2. (Spot) ...First we discuss the warmup and how they looked- particularly backands and how they looked at the net.

Default strategy is that all serves go to the backhand until they show they can attack off of that side.

Default strategy in the points is 1 up 1 back- keep the ball deep on the groundstrokes and eat them alive at the net.

Signaling and things like that is best used first in practice.

3. (Schap02) As far as strategy - I often think it's more important to discuss what your strengths and weaknesses are as opposed to your partners because then you'll be able to feed off each other which will create better tennis...