PDA

View Full Version : Spotting your target

SethIMcClaine
07-16-2009, 07:33 PM
Was playing net in double today and started noticing I had the tendency to volley right back to the opponents instead of to open space. Mid set I started making a concious decision of where I was going to return the ball if it came to me right before the oppent made a return (basically concentrating where the two players were and what would be my best lanes).

I was wondering if anyone could make suggestions to this strategy. Is it a good time to be looking since players will start moving after contact as the competition gets better? Tips/Suggestions?

plasma
07-17-2009, 02:04 AM
latest eye tracking software helps..I think I can download it at Seth is a genius.com, that's the best damn point I ever heard. I am a ceritfied pro coach and never considered that. Are you a grad student in an ivy league school or something???

fuzz nation
07-17-2009, 05:10 AM
You could consider the mild adjustment of hitting right back at your opponents, but just pop the ball down on their feet. Up at net, when we get a sitter that we can put away, we pretty much know it, right? If that garage door isn't there for us to hit through, there's always the option of giving the other guys a low ball that will force them to hit up. That will create opportunities for you and your partner to take points.

Better doubles teams understand positioning and will make a more consistent effort to deny your team many openings. If you can be the team that is hitting down across the net more than your opponents, you'll own the initiative in a lot more points. If the open court isn't there, remember to stay patient and keep the ball under the strike zone of the opposition.

SethIMcClaine
07-17-2009, 10:00 AM