PDA

View Full Version : AERO Strike vs Drive Z Tour

racquet
07-17-2009, 01:42 AM
Hi everyone!

I'm an intermediate player and looking for a new racquet. Previously I was using a really old Dunlop. (It was like 306gr with strings, head size:100in) Now it's time for a change! There are two options from Babolat that seem really nice so far: Aero Strike and Drive Z Tour. Any recommendations?

One thing concerns me about Drive Z Tour is its weight:305 with strings. I'm not a very strong player in terms of arms. Aero Strike is 10gr lighter but does it really makes a difference for me at this point?

Thanks for the responses.

KuanMaster
07-17-2009, 08:39 AM
did you think your old dunlop was heavy?

racquet
07-17-2009, 10:57 AM
I said heavy considering I was a beginner and not physically strong (as a woman). I am not sure it makes any difference now. May be I should continue with the same weight...

Carefree
07-19-2009, 12:26 PM
I was actually trying to figure this out myself.

Right now I am demoing the Aero Strike and the Wilson K6.2 (which is very similar to the Drive Z tour - 285g unstrung and more head light than the Sero Strike).

Personally I like the pop that the Aero Strike gives. It's 10 g lighter, but because it's more head heavy (it's still head light though) it gives a similar swing weight.

I would say that the Drive-Z tour would be a bit better around the net, while the Aero Strike is better along the baseline because of the power and spin.

to be honest though, the difference is really only a matter of feel and preference.

I'm just a beginner so I'm trying out as many rackets as I can in order to get a feel for differences.

You should demo them both and see what you're more comfortable with.

racquet
07-20-2009, 02:05 AM