PDA

View Full Version : Critique the weakest aspect of my game: SERVE (video)

raffi!
07-18-2009, 11:17 AM
Okay, so here's the skinny.

I've been struggling with the serve ever since I once again picked up a racquet. As a kid, I played tennis incessantly, and loved it--but stopped before high school began because the competition was making the game less than enjoyable.

So this year, as a senior, I tried out for the varsity team after not having played for 3-4 years, and I made it. And I love the game once again.

So now I have been playing for about 6 months now, and have been improving rapidly, especially since I deciphered the windshield wiper forehand (they didn't teach me that when i was a kid).

Now my serve. I've been working on it every day for an hour at least, and it's definitely improving. I realize that mine isn't quite the "proper" form, in which you bring the racquet down by your feet and then into the trophy position, etc. But I wasn't doing well AT ALL with that; I simply could not get my timing right. So I shortened the form, after noticing that maybe this would be okay since Nadal and Roddick both do it (I realize I am neither Nadal or Roddick, and I have no delusions about such things).

Anyway.

Critique my serve, please.

Be harsh.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9ui2qazXv4

Thanks!

volusiano
07-18-2009, 11:36 AM
It looks like you're using the eastern forehand grip on the serve. If that's true, switch to the continental grip first. Then take another video where there's more daylight and also position the camera behind you so we can see where the ball lands and repost.

raffi!
07-18-2009, 11:39 AM
Alright! Sorry for the awful video--I wasn't sure if it would be good enough, but apparently not.

Also, I'm relatively certain that I'm not using an eastern grip. My knuckle is on the first bevel.

raffi!
07-18-2009, 11:43 AM
Or on second thought, I can see why would think it's eastern--it definitely looks that way in the video.