PDA

View Full Version : Real History of Tennis Instruction Research

teachestennis
07-19-2009, 05:57 AM
I'm writing a fact based article on The Real History of Tennis Instruction that is published on www.moderntenniscoaches.com in the MTM library. This article is to put in context the real facts of who taught what, when and where, and why the controversy of tennis instruction rages to this day. It shows what the Russians are teaching, deals with the famous small Spartak Tennis Academy with one indoor court that has produced more top twenty players than the entire USA during the same period, how the USTA Quickstart Manual 2009 manual demos how to start players the same way they were started in fifty years ago, the USPTA teaches open stance "load and explode" and the PTR teaches "The Standard Method" with its old turn sideways, take adjusting steps, and hit stepping into the ball (I'm a PTR Pro). It shows what Tilden was teaching in 1931, Tom Stow in 1948, Tennis Magazine touting this style in the early 1970s, Braden in various years, what Nick Bollettieri was teaching in his interviews and writings. Anyone is allowed to contribute anything as long as they can prove it. It also looks at the timeline of where the controversial Oscar Wegner fits in. If you have never seen someone who has read/watched 200 videos/books in thirty five years of studying tennis put a timeline together with an interesting perspective.

The site is interactive and I will post anything I would like anyone to add anything from their favorite coach or just feel free to comment. If you want to dispute Oscar Wegner or any other coach, as long as you are respectful, please do so. The article will be revised in the time line if anyone puts in a quote they can source.