PDA

View Full Version : What are the exceptions to the Wardlaw Directionals?

Hrandyrko
07-20-2009, 02:58 AM
Howdy y'all, and thanks for stopping by to view my thread.

A few months ago I posted a thread up asking what the Wardlaw Directionals were. I now know what they are. However, I've heard from someone that these rules are not strict and that there are some exceptions regarding where you should hit the ball based on speed, depth, and your position on the court. Can anyone elaborate on this statement? What are the world class players thinking while playing points? Thanks in advance.

benasp
07-20-2009, 03:13 AM
IMO these rules are to play safe when rallying but when you have a sitter/short ball use you imagination and end the point

skiracer55
07-20-2009, 08:44 AM
...are only a part, albeit a significant part, of his book Pressure Tennis. What he was trying to do, as a coach, I believe, was to overall create and impose a training and match play system that would enforce the kind of discipline it takes to consistently win matches.

There's a lot of different interpretations of Wardlaw's Directionals, here's one of the ones I like best:

http://hoskinsjohn.bizland.com/direc/

My coach got me into Wardlaw's directionals because I was making way too many errors on non-percentage shots...basically committing the standard error of trying to hit an offensive shot from a defensive position. A simple rule I use is "If you're not comfortable, just hit the ball back to where it came from. If you are comfortable, do whatever feels tactically right as long as, percentage wise, you can actually make the shot..."

SourStraws
07-20-2009, 08:57 AM
I would say short ball in the middle...And or playing a pusher or "unothorodox" players

S.S.

Bungalo Bill
07-20-2009, 09:04 AM