PDA

View Full Version : Wrist not firm at contact , how do you correct it on a total beginner?

millenium
07-21-2009, 09:31 AM
Teaching someone who at contact does not keep wrist firm.
I started from contact point with follow through, did many repetitions, then progress with racket back low to high swing. But always at contact wrist is not firm, is there any exercise or drill to fix this problem?

millenium
07-21-2009, 09:34 AM
Mainly on Forehand side.

Sublime
07-21-2009, 09:42 AM
Maybe tell them to give the racket handle a bit of a squeeze just before contact?

Majik
07-21-2009, 10:46 AM
A tight grip on the handle during contact is the surest way to get tennis elbow.

Sublime
07-21-2009, 11:01 AM
A tight grip on the handle during contact is the surest way to get tennis elbow.

I didn't say commence death grip I said a squeeze... a gentle one at that. The firmness (and elasticity) of your wrist is controlled by the tension of the tendons connecting the muscles in your forearm to the bones in your hands and fingers.

Majik
07-21-2009, 02:19 PM
I didn't say commence death grip I said a squeeze... a gentle one at that. The firmness (and elasticity) of your wrist is controlled by the tension of the tendons connecting the muscles in your forearm to the bones in your hands and fingers.

The best advice I've heard is that you should have only enough grip on the racket during contact to just keep the racket from flying out of your hand. The swing should be a quick racket pull and a loose wrist about which the racket rotates to the ball. You might need a tighter grip during the racket pull, but not at actual contact.

10s talk
07-21-2009, 02:48 PM
tell them to choke up 4 " on the grip.....if they use a wristy swing, the butt of the racket will hit their forearm

chico9166
07-21-2009, 03:04 PM
tell them to choke up 4 " on the grip.....if they use a wristy swing, the butt of the racket will hit their forearm