PDA

View Full Version : One hand back hand tip?

luthertn
07-23-2009, 09:34 PM
Does anyone have any tip for 1hander? How to make it go faster and smoother?
and more consistant?

dennis10is
07-23-2009, 09:55 PM
I've been playing tennis for 30 years and the advice that my coach told me way back when is still something I use today.

Whenever I ask him about my stroke mechanics he said "take a tube sock, put one or two tennis ball in it, strecth it until the length of the get up would be the length of a racket. Grab the top end and swing it as you would your stroke. Learn from this he would say. How would you use this tube sock and ball to hit a tennis ball coming at you? Or how would you use this to serve.

It was helpful back then, it is even more helpful now 30 years later. I think that as I get better, I understand it more. Looking back it is scary to think that the sock drill incorporated the kinetic chain, the pulling stroke, roping the ball, the rolling of the forearm, the smart wrist, holding the racket way low, the reverse forehand, the low wrap around follow thru. He did all of it when he was whipping that tube sock around. This 65 yrs old man in the 80's was doing all this.

luthertn
07-24-2009, 01:15 AM
I've been playing tennis for 30 years and the advice that my coach told me way back when is still something I use today.

Whenever I ask him about my stroke mechanics he said "take a tube sock, put one or two tennis ball in it, strecth it until the length of the get up would be the length of a racket. Grab the top end and swing it as you would your stroke. Learn from this he would say. How would you use this tube sock and ball to hit a tennis ball coming at you? Or how would you use this to serve.