PDA

View Full Version : Advice on Forehand (slow mo video link)

dgoldman
07-26-2009, 05:10 AM
Hi. Learning the game for about a year and a half. I've taken lessons but also try to teach myself using video and comparing to online slow mo of pros. This is my first attempt of posting a video and seeking advice...don't have to be gentle though :) Any useful advice?

To me my hand doesn't look correct on the wrap and many times my palm is almost facing the sky - very common thing for me. Makes me think my swing path is more foreword and up versus across or horizontal and up but I am not sure.

Thanks!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4CJhB7uOYc

LeeD
07-26-2009, 06:39 AM
Yeah, you got the old man Eastern wrist and swing, but a modern SW grip. That lacks rackethead speed, which you need for the modern grips and topspin.
Loosen up your grip, especially your wrists, loopier longer stroke, don't lean back, and followthru after hitting the ball with some WW turnover movement of the arm, similar to the pronation of the service.
You need more rackethead speed with SW and W grips.

dgoldman
07-26-2009, 07:04 AM
Thanks.

with some WW turnover movement of the arm, similar to the pronation of the service.

Guess I should say that I use a 3 1/2 / 3 grip between SW and eastern similar to Roger F. I am trying to combine similar elements that he uses ie. the old style grips with a more modern swing path.

Is the WW turnover a conscious action or does it happen naturally from the swing path? I've heard different pieces of advice on how to help rotate the racquet: 1. Light grip that you tighten near contact 2. using the forefinger to pull up near contact 3. turning the doorknob ie. a full turn of the whole arm, not just the wrist.

I've picked up info from lots of nice places like Fuzzy yellow balls, hi-tech tennis, tv shows, instructor, etc.

LeeD
07-26-2009, 07:14 AM
WW followthru is different for different people.