PDA

View Full Version : USA: The South? The *******? West? Or some of the big cities?

TheMagicianOfPrecision
07-27-2009, 06:43 AM
Thinking about moving to USA and start working as a tennis-coach. Ive got my greencard. I have gotten lots of offers. Im a former pro player ranked 1000 in the world. Any suggestions? (Preferely from Americans)
Thanx!

brad1730
07-27-2009, 06:58 AM
For me, it normally boils down to... weather, water, mountains, economy, vibrancy of the town, and attitude of the locals. Do you like to see all 4 seasons, or is hot and hotter your 2 seasons? Do you like living near the oceans or lakes? Are the people laid back, outdoorsy types or are they hard-charging workers. Do you like big, middle or small cities? Are you familiar with our politics. Many people like living in liberal or conservative areas. Answer a few of these questions and I'll try to point you to a few cities. No matter what my opinion is though, there will be 10 people on here saying that I'm wrong, they live there, and it's just the opposite.

Cindysphinx
07-27-2009, 07:11 AM
+1.

In my area (Washington DC metro), I think it can be hard for tennis pros unless they affiliate with a club. The progression I have seen is that a new pro is hired by the club and is paid a pittance. As she becomes popular among club members who take clinics, she starts getting more clients. When the weather is too cold to play outside, she will teach through the club. Then when the weather warms, she can teach these clients outside in public parks and keep all of the revenue.

I get the sense from my pro is that he makes his real money in the warm months and deals with less income in the winter. I get the idea that he wants to strike out on his own, but I wonder where he would get a steady stream of clients were it not for meeting new clients through the club.

Others can probably give more info on this angle, but that's what I know about it.

TheMagicianOfPrecision
07-27-2009, 07:18 AM