PDA

View Full Version : Rules Q


jonnythan
07-28-2009, 06:25 PM
If a ball hits you in the face and bounces back over the net for a winner, I assume that doesn't count as a point :)

pvaudio
07-28-2009, 06:40 PM
Aside from actively changing the trajectory of the incoming shot, as in cupping the ball with the racquet or catching it with your hand, I'm pretty sure you're allowed to use anything to get the ball back over. The only reason you i dunno, might NOT want to do this is that getting hit in the face with a flat forehand shot is a bit less appealing than just hitting a drop volley.

plowmanjoe
07-28-2009, 06:45 PM
Aside from actively changing the trajectory of the incoming shot, as in cupping the ball with the racquet or catching it with your hand, I'm pretty sure you're allowed to use anything to get the ball back over. The only reason you i dunno, might NOT want to do this is that getting hit in the face with a flat forehand shot is a bit less appealing than just hitting a drop volley.

that's wrong. you have to use your racquet, you cannot use your face.

jonnythan
07-28-2009, 06:52 PM
That's too bad. It was a pretty nice 'shot' ;)

pvaudio
07-28-2009, 06:54 PM
that's wrong. you have to use your racquet, you cannot use your face.Heh, learn new things every day. It goes two ways I guess: you can't make contact with your body, but you can't make contact with the racquet when it's not touching your body ala Marat Safin's thrown racquet drop volley at the USO a few years ago lol

Double bagel
07-28-2009, 08:24 PM
I hit dude in the groin with a volley tonight and I feel bad about it...and..err...no it didn't come back over the net...

Hey, my hero was Lendl...