PDA

View Full Version : Can you hit the ball with your head?


ubermeyer
08-11-2009, 06:33 PM
Go to around 6:10 here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYd5t9cDyac

It shows Federer hitting a drop shot that looks like he hit it over the net with his head... Is this even legal? He won the point...

dave333
08-11-2009, 06:37 PM
wait....whoa. wtf. it really does look like he is headbutting it....

Hidious
08-11-2009, 06:38 PM
The ball had bounced twice on Del Potro's side, the point was already won.

GPG
08-11-2009, 06:38 PM
the ball already did it's 2nd bounce. You can see how Delpo was walking to his seet

akv89
08-11-2009, 06:38 PM
I think that Federer was awarded the point because Del Potro couldn't get to the ball before the 2nd bounce.

Hitting the ball with any part of your body means that you lose the point.

ubermeyer
08-11-2009, 06:41 PM
the ball already did it's 2nd bounce. You can see how Delpo was walking to his seet

oh, I didn't see it bounce twice, thanks.

DownTheLine
08-11-2009, 06:41 PM
Apperently. LOL

federer envies me
08-11-2009, 07:01 PM
Go to around 6:10 here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYd5t9cDyac

It shows Federer hitting a drop shot that looks like he hit it over the net with his head... Is this even legal? He won the point...

haha it would be so sick if that was actually legal

Terr
08-11-2009, 10:23 PM
No, but the ball can hit me on my head. If it'd really like.

psp2
08-11-2009, 11:02 PM
You can hear the chair ump saying "not up".

coloskier
08-12-2009, 12:25 PM
The official rules are that once the ball hits ANY part of your body, including your hand, the play is dead and you lose the point.