PDA

View Full Version : Need advice..Klip Legend 16g

Azzurri
08-13-2009, 07:18 AM
I have been playing 17g strings for the past 3 years or so. I will be ordering a few sets of the Legend and am thinking about getting 16g. I am looking for LESS power in this gut and what tension could I go up to? I normally string around 60lbs. I can't remember if the lower the gauge, the less power..yes?? How high have you strung Klip Legend? I want the gut, but have to tame the power a little more. Thanks in advance.

Supracool94
08-13-2009, 07:38 AM
If you want control, I would suggest going to highest tension that is recommended for your particular racquet.

Also using a poly string in the crosses would give you more control.

Garvy
08-13-2009, 07:57 AM
68 in a kbteam

66 in a RDX002T

No probs at all.
Hope that helps

Racer41c
08-14-2009, 08:05 AM
Played with a full set of Legend 16 last night. Strung at 60/58. Surprising control, I read that Legend is a lower power gut, but this was a pleasant surprise for me. Also, in my experience 17g strings definitely have more power than a 16.

In case this helps I would rate the full Legend 16 this way, compared to a poly/syn gut hybrid:

Power: about the same
Control: better
Spin: More than the hybrid about the same as full poly
Feel: Once I get used to it I think it will be fantastic. The ball bite is exceptional
Movement: It didn't move much at all
Durability: ??? we'll see.
Fraying: A few beginnings of fraying

Other: The ability to cut the slice backhand was worth several points last night. However, I never found the grove with the forehand, wound up hitting a lot of topspin/depth shots to control points. Whereas with poly, a few bashed forehands to pull opponent off court was the preferred point construction.

scotus
08-14-2009, 09:45 AM
If I were you, I would start out at 62 lbs to see how I like it (just slightly above your normal tension).