PDA

View Full Version : Do i have enough string?


Kick Serve 14
08-19-2009, 10:34 AM
I'm sorry, this question might make me seem like an idiot, but here we go. I have been playing tennis for some time now, but i am just now starting to get into dtringing my own rackets. I have several packages of string and i hava s hybrid that i use, but what i want to know is, i i have 40 ft of string in one package would i have enough string to string up two frames with it since i use a hybrid???

stanfordtennis alum
08-19-2009, 10:39 AM
yes 40 feet to do 2 hybrid frames should be sufficient.. what is the head size? string pattern??

Supracool94
08-19-2009, 10:53 AM
Yeah, you should have enough. That is 20ft per racquet (crosses or mains), usually that is plenty.

mikeler
08-19-2009, 11:01 AM
I have a set of rackets that require 21 feet in the mains, so it would not work for me if I was going to put the string as my mains in both of those rackets.

Supracool94
08-19-2009, 11:05 AM
I have a set of rackets that require 21 feet in the mains, so it would not work for me if I was going to put the string as my mains in both of those rackets.
What kind of racquets are they?

Kick Serve 14
08-19-2009, 11:07 AM
The rackets are Head Microgel Extremes and liquidmetal instincts, the extremes are 16 x 19 with roughly a 98 square inch headsize and the instincts are 18 x 19 with a 98 square inch head size.

Kick Serve 14
08-19-2009, 11:24 AM
anybody else have an opinion?

Supracool94
08-19-2009, 11:28 AM
The rackets are Head Microgel Extremes and liquidmetal instincts, the extremes are 16 x 19 with roughly a 98 square inch headsize and the instincts are 18 x 19 with a 98 square inch head size.

With those two racquets, you will have plenty of string.

rasajadad
08-19-2009, 11:46 AM
I have a set of rackets that require 21 feet in the mains, so it would not work for me if I was going to put the string as my mains in both of those rackets.

It depends on the racquets. I would estimate that on 90% of the frames I string, the actual amount of string you need is less than what it says on the sheets. In fact, it also is dependant on the tension in that I string for a guy who strings a Prince Graphite O/S (125 sq. in) with natural gut, one-piece at 14 pounds. I have to measure that sucker down to the inch to make it work with 40' of sting.

mikeler
08-19-2009, 12:11 PM
Looks like both of them need 20 feet in the mains according to this:

http://www.klipperusa.com/stringing/viewpattern.php?mfg=THED

Irvin
08-19-2009, 12:13 PM
anybody else have an opinion?

You should be fine but if you are concerned try stinging the mains in one racket with the whole set of string with 10' on the short side. After tying off the long side cut the left over string off and you will have the maximum amount left over for the other racket.

On the other racket center the left over string in the mains but measure it to see exactly what you need.

Also some packages of string say they are 40' when they are actually more than that. Measure twice cut once.

Irvin

zerox277
08-19-2009, 08:47 PM
It depends on the racquets. I would estimate that on 90% of the frames I string, the actual amount of string you need is less than what it says on the sheets. In fact, it also is dependant on the tension in that I string for a guy who strings a Prince Graphite O/S (125 sq. in) with natural gut, one-piece at 14 pounds. I have to measure that sucker down to the inch to make it work with 40' of sting.


What? 14 pounds? WTF? How?