PDA

View Full Version : Babolat Pure Drive as a beginner racquet?

jmmtn4aj
08-24-2009, 08:02 PM
Hi, I recently started playing the game seriously (getting coach once a week, hopefully playing more often with friends when I'm more free), and was thinking of going from the OS racquets I already have to a one properly customized for me. The racquets are my family's so the grip size isn't exactly right and I'm not happy with the balance. Also I tried my coach's 9x sq inch Prince racquet and preferred the feel, OS seems to wobble too much for me since it allows me to hit off center more often.

Is a PD GT too advanced for me? My swing style tends to be moderate to short, and I'm a regular sized Asian (~5' 8") so my main concern is power..

LanEvo
08-24-2009, 09:06 PM
demo is all i can say, but im asian as well 5'8" and i use the Aerostorms

jmmtn4aj
08-26-2009, 12:37 AM
Is it disadvantageous to learn on a 'pro' racquet though?

tata
08-26-2009, 01:06 AM
I say go with a 'pro' racquet or what you are comfortable with. Personally i do think racquets can give you more room for growth, a shell you might call it. The crapper the racquet the smaller the shell you have to grow into. When i was playing in high school i used OS and recreational racquets for like 4-5 years. I didnt go coaching but there was little progress. Then when i cracked the frame i went straight to a prince 03 and i improved ALOT in one year as opposed to 4-5yrs of using recreational racquets.

wyutani
08-26-2009, 01:07 AM
not a good idea. ive seen beginers using the pure drive and saw them suffer. ugly strokes, ugly serves, serves not going in. start with a lighter racquet. anything below 300g.

jmmtn4aj
08-26-2009, 02:12 AM