PDA

View Full Version : Sweet spot tension/ progressive tension stringing

jsomrak
08-27-2009, 09:13 AM
I am new to stringing my own racquets. And after a few months I've made the usual errors. I had a thought recently. I was wondering if anyone has thought of or tried this method. I almost always do a two piece job. I want to start maybe 2 lbs higher on initial mains maybe first 3 per side and then drop as I get to the outer mains, not sure what tension. On the crosses I would do the same. This may help with off center hits I think? The entire opposite may be another option. The idea being to either increase or decrease the middle strings to optomize the feel of string bed. I welcome all ideas. And no I haven't done this yet.

bsandy
08-27-2009, 09:19 AM
There is only about 3-5 lbs of friction in the turn of a grommet and 8-12 lbs in the weave of a cross.

After one long rally, I belive all would be equal.

Your intent is good though. This is why most racquets have a less dense pattern on the outside.

. . . Bud

jsomrak
08-27-2009, 09:26 AM
So what yor saying is that I could turn to mush pretty quickly. I was thinking if I was using all poly, which I do, there would be less movement across the grommet and or cross. I may try it on an older frame for grins. Not that I disagree with you, just bored. Who knows the earth may be round.

bsandy
08-27-2009, 09:34 AM
Since you are bored and have time, do this . . .

As you're doing the mains, use a sharpie and mark the center of the mains as they loop from one grommet hole to the other. Se if it moves as you're stringing and after a good hitting session.

Report back. There will be a few of use over-thinkers that are curious.

Also . . . did you consider how much looser your last mains will be because of your ties offs (especially with poly) ?

. . . Bud

jsomrak
08-27-2009, 09:42 AM