PDA

View Full Version : Back in the game after 20 yrs break: Seeking advice on racket to buy..

Dr. D
08-29-2009, 09:11 PM
Hey everyone,

I am a 38 yo M. I used to play competitively until I got to college. I gave up the game for nearly 20 yrs and now have been trying to get back into the game this summer. Back in the day, I used to play with a 110 sq inch metal frame prince pro and then got a prince spectrum comp as a senior. This summer, I demo'ed a few rackets and found the power of the new rackets (Babolat) very difficult to handle. I just kept hitting the balls long. Some of it is that I am rusty (and might hit better with them now that I have been practicing for the past two months). Some of it might be that the rackets are so powerful now.

I ended up buying a 93 sq inch Wilson K Blade Tour but am not playing my best tennis to say the least. I am mis-hitting a lot since its a slightly smaller frame than what I played with back in the day and dont feel that the racket is an extension of my hand. Over the weekend, I played with a friend who happened to have an old Prince Pro metal frame and I was playing really well (for me). I had consistency, power, and feel etc... It felt so natural to play with this.

So my question is to the experts out there, what do you think is going on? Why can I play so well with this old racket and have difficulty with my Wilson and others I demo'ed. Is it a matter or weight of racket, of size of head, or stiffness, etc? The bottom line is: I would love to get advice on what contemporary rackets you all think I should demo given the improvement of my game using this old racket.

Thanks so much in advance!!

Dr. D

skyzoo
08-29-2009, 09:16 PM
Give the Radical Oversize a go. it's not to powerful and the sweetspot is big. It will give you more freedom to take cuts with out worrying about framing the ball or hitting a homerun. String it with some poly and I think you'll find a happy medium with it.

cadfael_tex
08-29-2009, 09:19 PM