PDA

View Full Version : Lead Tape Virgin

Cloud Atlas
08-31-2009, 05:50 AM
Ok, I recently bought two Yonex RDiS 100 MP rackets. I like them, but they're very light, particularly head light I think. I've never used lead before, but would this be a good way to make the racket feel more "solid"? It kind of feels like it gets pushed around a bit against bigger hitters, and balls tend to fly a lot on me. I'm particularly interested in making the racket feel more solid on both serves and volleys. Does lead at 3 and 9 o'clock do this? How much lead? Where do you buy lead? Can you just stick it on? If you stick it on and it's no good, can you just take it off and move it? Pros and cons of lead? Should I just have bought a heavier racket to begin with?
Anyone had any experience leading up the RDiS 100 MP?
Thanks!

prjacobs
08-31-2009, 06:51 AM
http://twu.tennis-warehouse.com/learning_center/customization.html

Here's the link for adding lead. Also, google it:) good luck.

Anton
08-31-2009, 06:59 AM
I like to put lead on at 10 and 2 positions - more stability, more power - less maneuverable/usually longer swing required.

akybo
08-31-2009, 07:17 AM
Before adding lead,try another string tension:50-52lbs.A loose string will absorb more of the energy coming from the fast pace balls.

ryushen21
08-31-2009, 11:05 AM
Lead at 3 and 9 will increase torsional stability so your racquet won't really twist as much on off center shots. It will make it feel more solid and if you feel that the racquet is too head light adding at 3 and 9 will make it more head heavy.

Meaghan
08-31-2009, 11:26 AM