PDA

View Full Version : Any other tricks to get string thru blocked grommets?

Doulers
08-31-2009, 07:39 AM
I am new to stringing. Bought my first machine a few months ago. I have done four racquets so far. On the last job strung all natural gut. I have not found the entire process all that difficult, and even stringing natural gut I did not think was all that more difficult than synthetic gut.

The one thing that I am still having a little trouble with (at least doing it quickly) is getting a string through a blocked grommet hole where another string is already in that hole. This is the one thing that is adding significant time to my string jobs (I have a drop weight machine). I eventually get it, but with a lot of failed attempts. I have tried YULitle's tricks of flattening, cutting to a point, and pushing in with pliers with chapstick, and even that takes a while because often the string bends. Maybe I just need more practice. I have even used an awl, but am afraid to use it too often in fear of damaging a string which I have come close to doing on occasion.

Does anyone know any other tricks to get a string through a blocked grommet hole other than what YULitle shows on his instructional video?

Thanks in advance.

Irvin
08-31-2009, 07:59 AM
The one thing that I am still having a little trouble with (at least doing it quickly) is getting a string through a blocked grommet hole where another string is already in that hole.

Plan ahead so that does not happen. I am assuming you are not trying to get a string through a hole where a string is just covering the hole. Try inserting the two strings in the hole before you pull tension on the first string.

Irvin

Valjean
08-31-2009, 08:03 AM
A blunt-tipped awl can enlarge the grommet hole too, as well as just nudge the offending string aside. There is such a thing as string wax to apply to the awl, as well as other substances that can grease the way.

Irvin
08-31-2009, 08:17 AM