PDA

View Full Version : Should I be concerned?

ANG
09-01-2009, 09:28 AM
So I ordered a K Blade 98 from TW and it arrived today. Should I be concerned that the strings are not straight? Since its my first time playing with the kBlade 98, I had it strung near the middle of its tension range at 56# with Wilson NXT Tour 17. Did I do something stupid in spec'ing the string job, is this common or should I be worried?

http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa186/anotherguyLF/IMG_0300.jpg

bsandy
09-01-2009, 09:35 AM
Generaly strings are strightened after stringing.

What I see here is no big deal.

But . . . I thought TW would use an ATW pattern rather than stringing the crosses throat to head.

. . . Bud

Rabbit
09-01-2009, 09:42 AM
I agree that there is no big deal here, it's free stringing after all. :)

I will take issue with a couple of other points though.

String should be straight when tension is applied. Straightening afterwards, tension is lost and results are inconsistent. I always, on the crosses, pull tension, straighten, and then pull tension again for this very reason.

How would one tell from this photo if TW did an ATW or bottom to top?

Irvin
09-01-2009, 09:42 AM
So I ordered a K Blade 98 from TW and it arrived today. Should I be concerned that the strings are not straight? Since its my first time playing with the kBlade 98, I had it strung near the middle of its tension range at 56# with Wilson NXT Tour 17. Did I do something stupid in spec'ing the string job, is this common or should I be worried?

I would be very concerned if I were you. Those strings are really crooked. I also noticed the racket was strung upside down. Can't you see where the tails on the knots point downward instead of up?