PDA

View Full Version : stringing natural gut

bab pure drive roddick
09-01-2009, 04:33 PM
hey everyone, a guy at my academy broke a string today and i have been stringing rackets for about a month now. i told him to give it to me to string but he said that stringing natural gut is different and i couldn't do it. is that true?

Valjean
09-01-2009, 04:51 PM
Gut is expensive, and can break on its own, or just due to how you tie it off. Some shops won't handle it and still others only let the manager do it then. OTOH, once you know how, there's no reason you shouldn't be able to.

madeinargentina
09-01-2009, 05:22 PM
Es lo mismo que encordar una tripa sintética o un multifilamento
Vas a tener que tener mas precaución para no hacer friccionar las cuerdas
Podés pre-tensar las cuerdas para tener mejores resultados, saludos.

i suck at tennis
09-01-2009, 05:23 PM
I've been stringing for about 8 months now, and just strung my first gut job, or half job (gut mains and syngut crosses). I was nervous about it, but as long as you take your time and make sure the string does not get kinked it shouldnt be a problem.

What the guy said about you not being able to do it is absolutely not true, but whether or not he wants you to do it is another story. If he doesnt, big deal, just a little more free time to do whatever you want!

jim e
09-01-2009, 05:41 PM
The first racquet I ever strung was all gut, Victor Imperial Gut, back in 1968. The person teaching me to string was there, he knew that was my string at that time and I should string my own, and it went fine.He told me after that I could string anything out there.