PDA

View Full Version : Prince Diablo Mid Woes

philbhp
09-02-2009, 05:24 AM
I've been hitting recently with a diablo mid and let me tell you, this stick is STIFF! I'm curious to hear from you seasoned diablo users out there if you had the same first impressions? It feels like I'm hitting with a frying pan--a lot of vibration, racquet feels "hollow", frame doesn't feel flexy at all.

Some background, I'm a 4.5-5.0 college player. I usually hit with the RDS 001 mid which feels soft as butter compared to the diablo even though though it is only one point less stiff than the diablo according to TW. On both the RDS and the diablo I strung with a ALU power/Prince synthetic gut original hybrid at 62 lbs. I suspect the tension may be a little high for the diablo, which is weird because it felt a little low for the RDS.

Any thoughts/advice appreciated, thanks!

eagle
09-02-2009, 05:45 AM
Hi Phil,

Sorry to hear you are struggling with the Diablo mid.

I've been using this for several years and love it. Knowing that this racquet is stiffer than my previous Volkl racquet which I strung with a poly/syn hybrid, I steered clear from poly ... even hybrid. I use strictly synthetic. I also string it at the lower end of its range at 53 lbs.

Other than that, I don't know what else you can do to make it softer.

I personally don't think it is stiff. Perhaps I'm just used to it. But I love its heft, control, and spin. :) And although it has a small head, the sweet spot seems bigger. Feels and sounds good when you hit it.

Give it a 2nd chance. Hopefully, you'll find a way to adapt to it and make it your weapon of choice. If not, then get on board the "what racquet should I get" bandwagon. :)

r,
eagle

tennisntn3477
09-02-2009, 06:27 AM
Hi Phil,

Sorry to hear you are struggling with the Diablo mid.