PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Club Tennis

The Wreck
09-03-2009, 10:11 AM
I'm a freshman at UGA, and had been looking forward to Club Tennis ever since I found out it existed several months ago. But apparently I had some misconceptions about it, and I was wondering what other's experiences have been like.

The competitive aspect of club tennis is what drew me to it initially, but I was shocked to find out that there were tryouts and cuts just to get on the team. I was under the impression that anyone who wanted to join could do so, and then the best out of all those would be the ones who traveled to tournaments and what not. I figured that even if I didn't make the "team" I could still practice every week and get to play with others who are on my level and hopefully get better. If you ask me, that seems like what a sports club should be like.

I went to tryouts anyway, and was just a bit put off by the way it was run. They put about 8 people on a court and just told us to rotate in and out and hit for a while. We did so for a solid hour, and in that time, they would come and "observe" us for a few minutes. Literally, a few minutes. I think they saw me have about two rallies and then they left again. I hit the ball fine during the minute they watched, but honestly, anyone can have a couple bad points in an hour time span, and it would be a terrible representation of who they really are as a player (an vice versa).

They then placed us into groups to alternate playing doubles tiebreakers. Again, I can hardly think of a worse way to see how well someone can play. I think they may have watched one tie breaker I played, in which I got to hit 2 balls the entire time. When I would look over at the team "captain", he would just be standing there with his clipboard, laughing and talking with others already on the team, hardly paying attention to anything going on around them.