PDA

View Full Version : Are going to live tennis matches worth it?

Arzon
09-05-2009, 07:19 PM
SOrry if this is in the wrong forum.

I've been playing tennis for about 6 years now. I watch tennis on tv during the slams, but I've never been to an actual pro match.

I'm thinking about going to US Open next year (live in Georgia), but plane and tickets have a pretty big price tag. Is it actually worth it to go to pro tennis matches?

maverick66
09-05-2009, 07:24 PM
your poll is messed up. What does you finding a racket have to do with this topic?

flyinghippos101
09-05-2009, 07:24 PM
What the hells with the completely irrelevent poll?

Anyway, I say yes. Why not take the time to examine the pros and their technique (if you manage to get that close) plus it just rocks to see it live. There's nothing like it

dave333
09-05-2009, 07:32 PM
Yeah, there really isn't anything like watching pros play up close. You see just how fast it is, how much net clearance, and all their spin, stuff that you normally can't see on TV (unless they use that lower camera angle)

mtommer
09-05-2009, 09:35 PM
Besides the things dave333 mentioned, you also see how fast they aren't. More specifically, you see the strategy in setting up for that really hard and fast shot. You see how to play percentage tennis.

Beyond getting a better understanding of the game, you also get a better understanding of the emotion and mental aspects of the players and what they go through while playing. It makes the match more engaging to watch with greater anticipation and apprehension on each point played for the player you're rooting for.

goober
09-06-2009, 08:13 AM
Take the racquet dude!