PDA

View Full Version : About to get Wilson K Five. 98

elation
09-11-2009, 01:06 PM
I've been using 110sq-in racquet for last 15 years... well maybe playing once a year or less b/w now and then, and recently started playing more often.

I think it's time to switch. Actually got a new string (NXT 16g) this spring for that racquet and the frame is caved in. The string also has some broken fibers and it will probably snap sometime soon.

Can you recommend me a string for an intimidate player?
Anybody against the racquet selection? Should I get 108 instead of 98?

I feel current 110 is little too big.
Can't really Demo any because I live in Canada.

elation
09-12-2009, 09:26 AM
Now I am thinking Dunlop Aerogel 200. It's on sale for about $90 at a local tennis shop.

Wilson k Five looked great until I saw it was 8 Head Heavy. My current racquet is also head heavy and I think I prefer head light.

Can anyone tell the ratio by this picture? I have no idea what these mean.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/elation/P1010090.jpg

It's caved in and that's what I am playing with now.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/elation/P1010091.jpg
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v121/elation/P1010092.jpg

elation
09-12-2009, 04:29 PM
Halp!!

My thread needs some love please

autumn_leaf
09-12-2009, 05:34 PM
i'm currently in a trade with a fellow board member for the kfive 98. i'm coming down from a 12.8 oz frame since i was dilusional believing i could handle it. it's a big step down in weight.

if you're concerned about the head heavy aspect you can always counter balance using tape inside the trap door ( i believe it has one).

the racquets should arrive monday and post a review about it by the end of the week. I tried looking up the kfive but found very little talk of it. I went with the 98 since i have trouble serving with OS racquets. it just doesn't fly through the air right for me, it just wobbles.