PDA

View Full Version : The 2nd Serve.

MasturB
10-12-2009, 12:07 AM
Right now, I'm trying really hard to get a consistent 2nd serve.

I'm not worried too much about a first serve, but I do need a reliable 2nd serve to at least get the ball in play.

I'm a self taught player, so I've never had any coaching.

I want to learn anything... a kicker, a topspin serve, a slice serve.

Here's my issue right now: Serving from the deuce court (right side of the court to left) is fine right now. It's WAY more consistent than my serve from the AD court (but right now that's not saying much). Another thing is, for both sides... I'm hitting the ball either long a few feet past the service line, or hitting right under the tape. If I can just find that middle ground, I'd be getting a serve in consistently.

I need to know a few things:
1) On a kicker, topspin, or slice... where should I make contact with the ball? At it's highest point? Should I let it come down a little bit since I'm going to be brushing it?

2) Ball toss? Behind me? Right over me? In front of me? To my right? To my left? Also, I'm curious to how is it every time I watch any pro match, I hear some commentators say someone like Federer has a hard serve to read because his ball toss is the same for every type of serve?

3) Numbers like 6-12, 3-9, 8-2. I noticed from the deuce court, whenever I try a 3-9 or 8-2, and I make contact, the ball goes slightly wide to the right of the out line of the returner. Probably has something to do with my ball toss I guess?

xFullCourtTenniSx
10-12-2009, 03:00 AM
Right now, I'm trying really hard to get a consistent 2nd serve.

I'm not worried too much about a first serve, but I do need a reliable 2nd serve to at least get the ball in play.

I'm a self taught player, so I've never had any coaching.

I want to learn anything... a kicker, a topspin serve, a slice serve.