PDA

View Full Version : my serves and groundies

spacediver
10-19-2009, 10:48 PM
Would appreciate any feedback whatsoever. This is my first time using any sort of filming device, and unfortunately, these are the only cuts that had me in the frame properly.

One thing I think I see in the serves is a need for more of a knee bend and body rotation. A better toss may prevent some of the bad form seen in the first couple of serves.

As for the groundies, this was a warmup rally (I taped a long rally session where things heated up, but again, I was entirely out of frame). I let a forehand rip at 1:55, but the rest should show my basic form.

serves:

http://www.vimeo.com/7159035

groundies:

http://www.vimeo.com/7159098

ReopeningWed
10-19-2009, 11:06 PM
I saw the groundstrokes video. To be concise, you're cramped on your forehand, hit too late, need to hit out further in front, flat-footed, no footwork, no hip OR shoulder rotation, need better drive with legs, need better footwork, and keep your head still so you don't shank the ball as massively as you did at 1:55.
On your backhand, move your feet, get that back leg closer to the ground, don't open up those shoulders, keep your head still.

Most importantly, MOVE YOUR FEET. I'd say 3.0 level.

spacediver
10-19-2009, 11:26 PM
thanks reopening - yea the footwork was lazy as things hadn't really warmed up, but I definitely need to refine it on my strokes. I'm generally good at getting to the ball on time, but need to fine tune the footwork just before and during the strokes.

ReopeningWed
10-19-2009, 11:40 PM
Your racket head speed isn't too bad though, for all arm. Keep at it :)

spacediver
10-20-2009, 08:58 AM
any advice on the serves, or other feedback?

ryangoring
10-20-2009, 09:14 AM
Man I was laughing at the guy next to you in all black with the white cap. His forehand looks like he was playing table tennis.

spacediver
10-20-2009, 09:20 AM