PDA

View Full Version : Over Shoulder or Windshield Wiper

Vyse
10-22-2009, 08:11 PM
I have been playing tennis for 7 months and been playing quite a bit. I am wondering when the best time to convert my over the shoulder forehand to the windshield wiper as I think this would improve my game, but I am also not sure if I am really ready. Thoughts? When would the best time to do this be?

tricky
10-22-2009, 09:50 PM
When would the best time to do this be?

I feel when your footwork patterns are good. To check for that, see how your swing goes when you artificially limit or almost eliminate your takeback. You should still be able to easily finish over the shoulder. If you struggle, then look at the feet again.

35ft6
10-22-2009, 09:57 PM
You don't HAVE to convert to windshield wiper. Look at Davydenko, classic over the shoulder follow through and he gets plenty of spin and pace. Keep developing. Don't keep taking steps backwards by forcibly implementing radical new strokes elements whenever you're just starting to feel comfortable with something.

tricky
10-22-2009, 09:59 PM
All the same, he's 7 months into playing, and he may want to give it a shot. But, yeah, nothing wrong with an over-the-shoulder finish. Agassi had a nice career with it. ;)

xFullCourtTenniSx
10-23-2009, 12:08 AM
Do it whenever it comes naturally. If it doesn't, don't worry about it.

My friend doesn't use a windshield wiper forehand, but his forehand when struck well probably goes through the court faster than mine. Then again, he mainly hits flat and I only hit that flat when I go for a dip drive... Still, I think his fastest shots beats mine.

I never really focused on learning the windshield wiper forehand. I just experimented with forehand grips and used extreme wrist action and a very low to high motion. It started to come to me naturally, but I still performed better with an over the shoulder finish, so I stuck with that until it came back naturally again but performed better.