PDA

View Full Version : Torn between forehands

callen3615
10-27-2009, 02:25 PM
Hey guys. Im confused. Im not confident in my current forehand. I dont swing out much in matches. I hit lots of slice because im afraid I will hit it out. Ive been playing the semi western for about 3 months now and Im not sure im comfortable using it. I learned on the eastern grip. I feel more comfortable using it. If I do switch back to a flatter grip I will go to the extreme eastern grip.

Heres some info on my style.

Im currently using the kps88. I like to hit with slice on both sides. 2 hand backhand, eastern grip. Im trying to learn to hit topspin on the forehand side, currently using semi western. I like to come to net, especially on a good serve, or approach shot.

So which grip should I stick with? Im either going to go with the semi western or the extreme eastern.

GuyClinch
10-27-2009, 02:42 PM
Not much difference between those grips IMHO. Your swing path will make more of a difference. For either of those grips try to get your racquet below the ball and swing up and through the ball.

callen3615
10-27-2009, 03:07 PM
Hmm, noted. So lets add eastern to the list of options.

The_Steak
10-27-2009, 03:27 PM
Why are you using a KPS? It doesn't even sound like you are good enough to use it.

GuyClinch
10-27-2009, 03:29 PM
Eastern will work fine - but I prefer the extra spin built into SW personally. YMMV.

And about the racquet - yeah I haven't hit with that racquet but it sounds like it would make your life harder. I tried hitting with Federer's racquet one time and honestly it felt AWFUL. It was the worst racquet I ever hit with. I find it harder to play with his racquet then wood.

Bungalo Bill
10-27-2009, 03:39 PM