PDA

View Full Version : can a beginner racquet mess you up?

bbbbbb
10-29-2009, 05:41 AM
When i started playing tennis i used a 110 sq inch racquet it was a head tis6 i chose it to generate power for me.At the same time my friend chose an s1 which gives control and is slightly smaller.The other day when we were hitting when we switched racquets i felt like my swing finally freed up.Like with my racquet i had to use less than half of my full capable swing speed,but with his i could swing out.Could this be due to the fact that my current racquets to forgiving with its sweet spot and now that i generate my own pace its causing unessecary errors?

dozu
10-29-2009, 05:43 AM
it will mess you up for sure.

those beginner rackets are only for people who just want to have some fun, but do NOT want to improve.

if you want to become a good player, you should use equipment like a good player does from the very beginning.

GuyClinch
10-29-2009, 05:50 AM
^^^ I wouldn't go THAT far. Some of those true player racquets with the very headlight frame are very bad for beginner players IMHO. Not to mention you develop less spin from the string patterns..

However for a younger guy starting out - I do think a heavier midsize (98 inches) kind of racquet is the way to go. I think racquets are really about body type..

If your a stronger fitter person - you would be foolish not to use a heavier racquet. The super light super big racquets are made for the 40 - 60 something female crowd. And for this crowd with low physical strength they work well.

They don't make my racquet anymore.. but something like this is good for a male beginner I think..

http://www.tennis-warehouse.com/descpage-SP03BK.html
It doesn't have to be that exact racquet but balance wise, weight and string pattern..its a good start.

Pete

raiden031
10-29-2009, 05:51 AM