PDA

View Full Version : Agassi hates tennis

Ledigs
10-29-2009, 11:11 AM
This fact bothers me more than the drug use although I forgive him for both. Also, after reading this article, I think doing drugs is probably more common than not because you can't deal with the lifestyle, pain and pressure without it. You can't deal with becoming a has-been.

Interesting article on the topic:

"I play tennis for a living even though I hate tennis, hate it with a dark and secret passion and always have." So writes Andre Agassi in his new autobiography, Open, published this week. It is 2006 and one of the world's most feted sports stars has just woken up in a New York hotel room, poised to play his last tournament.

But why would a great sportsman hate his sport? Why wouldn't he love everything about it and all it brings to his life travel, glamour, money, mass adoration, endless free tennis rackets and barley water, not to mention the surely sustaining thought that he is doing something for a living that makes many of us sick with envy?

"But it becomes more than a job, it takes over your life," says former British tennis professional Barry Cowan, perhaps best known for taking Agassi's nemesis, Pete Sampras, to five sets in Wimbledon in 2001. "If you're at the top of tennis, you're on tour 30-plus weeks of the year and when you're doing that, everything revolves around tennis. Every decision you make, tennis is at the back of your mind. That's the main reason for burnout among tennis players in their 20s.

"I know this for myself it's something you've done since you were six years old, and there's a sense that if you stop giving 100% you are doomed to failure, and that is unacceptable. No wonder so many players hate their sport the surprise is that so few admit it."