PDA

View Full Version : Buyer Beware: Teaching Pros

tennisabroad
11-06-2009, 01:58 PM
Teaching Pros beware!

I feel strongly that this post be recognized by teaching pros worldwide.

I was introduced to an Argentinian ex-PBI teaching pro recently who did nothing but speak about PBI, it's methods, travel opportunities, glamor, glitz, and yes cult like feel. He is now teaching for a top resort in Gran Canaria, Spain (no longer with PBI or so he says) and when i applied for a teaching position with him for 3 mths he gladly brought me on board. Brought me on board from the USA that is! I am a top teaching coach with much experience in both public, private & resort sectors. He claimed he couldn't offer me a VISA but his word was good and he was eager to bring a young woman on board as part of his teaching team.
For the first time i took a risk...based on months of emails, skype conversations, and promises. I gave up my home, job, and clientele. I got an apartment where he advised, and off i went for my new teaching adventure with a supposed reputable pro. Because the PBI method takes many hours of learning, 2 hrs on court with Mr. T.N. wasn't near enough and when he immediately had me run a clinic and i didn't do the method perfectly, I was berated on court in front of clients. When I finally stood up for myself after the clinic -- he fired me. Because he could. No conversation, no professionalism, just approached me with another male employee from the resort. Yelled at me some more and drove off. Guess a female pro who had personality and asked questions wasn't what he had in mind.

Moral of the story is...as teaching pros we always want more from the teaching experience. More diversity, travel awareness, newer teaching methods, anything to expand our horizons.