PDA

View Full Version : Separating life from tennis

!<-_->!
11-12-2009, 05:10 PM
To start off, I've never been the most mellow person. That is to say, I've got a short fuse from time to time. But more often than not, a lot of it stems from the stresses and frustration of daily life and not so much the tennis itself. Tennis is tennis. I am no professional so this is merely recreation and not profession. With that said, I've lost my mind completely lately and have acted quite poorly while on the court. Details shall be spared. Thus, do others who seem to suffer from these symptoms have any remedies or advice as to cure, or at the very least, curb such eruptions of emotion and negativity.

Thanks.

Ripper014
11-12-2009, 05:17 PM
I am just the opposite... in the past I have always used tennis as my sanctuary a place to get away from everything. When things start to go wrong on the court... I always pause and think to myself, would I rather be here or...?

A bad day on the tennis court is still better than a good day at a lot of other places.

I don't get to play as much as I would like anymore... so everytime I am on the court now I try to remember to enjoy every ball I hit, EVERY BALL!!!

So as you walk through the gate... leave it all behind you. It might not be easy at first but with practice it becomes a way of life. And if you slip up... man up and apologize to your opponents, we all have bad days.

halalula1234
11-12-2009, 11:46 PM