PDA

View Full Version : IvanAndreevich kick serve thread

IvanAndreevich
11-20-2009, 10:55 AM
A few words about myself. I am a noob, never coached. I always get crushed by decent players. I am talentless, lazy, and undisciplined.

I am working on my kick serve: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n8BXhAk93hE. Best point of view starts around 2:00.

My height is 177 cm (5' 10"). The height to which the ball kicks in the above video is shown below. Some of those balls are to the deuce court out wide (appears at waist height), and the one at head height is to the ad court out wide (appears at head height). It seems that the actual height is between waist and shoulder.

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/17abb50d7c.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

Image sequences of a few kick serves:

http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/2a5fb40466.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/e73e51f8a6.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/091f45ebbc.jpg (http://www.freeimagehosting.net/)

Concerns
1) Consistency - I get 80% serves in (as of right now) when I am hitting it as in video. Even after just 5 hours, though, it has improved considerably.
2) Spin - I don't think it's kicking high enough, and (related) I don't think it has enough net clearance, and hence consistency.
3) Smoothness - During the step-up my shoe squeaks. I think in a perfectly relaxed and a smooth motion this should not happen. My rock-back is very jerky too - same. Having seen this for the first time on video, I will attempt to do away with both of these problems.
4) Toss - is inconsistent. When I miss, I think it's often because of the toss being crappy.

The fundamental question is whether I should work out a few kinks and keep practicing without changing it much, or I need to make a major adjustment before I waste any more time doing it wrong.

Please advise.