PDA

View Full Version : I'm 18, should I be playing in adult leagues?

ogruskie
11-22-2009, 08:25 PM
Hello everybody. A little background about myself: I'm 18, going to a community college. I played on the varsity team back in high school, but outside of that I have no competitive experience. I won't be able to play on the college team this upcoming season because of my class schedule, but hopefully will get a chance in the years afterward.

Meanwhile I'd like to play with some good players in order to improve myself. I've played with some of the top players on the college team, and while I put up a good fight, I still lost. So I'd like to participate in some competitive leagues in order to improve my match mentality.

So the question is: Should I be playing in adult leagues, or junior leagues? As an 18 year old I'm technically an adult, right? I want to play challenging players but not completely get demolished. I'm a little lost here. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

innoVAShaun
11-23-2009, 03:50 AM
From my experience with the 18 yo juniors here, you can play adult leagues. The minimum age is 19 but you can start playing that same calender year. So if your 19th birthday is in december, you could've played last spring.

There was an 18yo playing at our USTA/VA state districts that just graduated last spring. I heard he placed at state in high school. He mopped the floor with all the other 4.0 singles players at districts.

86golf
11-23-2009, 05:26 AM
Go for it if you can find a team to play on. You could probably be an asset to a 4.5 team if you are competitive with college level players. It will be cheaper for you to play adult leagues than jr. tournaments. Although, based on my experience, the top jr's are better than the higher level adult leagues (4.5,5.0). Our top jr.'s are more like 5.5 level.
Good luck either way.

SlapChop
11-23-2009, 06:00 AM