PDA

View Full Version : I Want to Save My 2 Handed Backhand :(

Roy125
11-23-2009, 07:35 PM
First of all sorry for putting out so many topics in a couple of days. I just need some immediate advice about a lot of things that have been bugging me since I started playing tennis.

My main problem right now is one that has been bugging me since I started playing tennis. I play with a 2 handed backhand and I have always felt that it has been too restricted and that my 2 arms are out of sync. It's extremely disappointing when this leads to easy loss of control and difficulty in hitting a ball with pace out of the service boxes. I just felt like giving up when I dropped a ball, hit it with my backhand, and I felt that it was hard to actually make it hit the baseline. It's also discouraging when I see people that have played for a lesser time than me to have better backhands than me.

I'm just wondering if I should give up my 2 handed backhand.

snr
11-23-2009, 08:00 PM
I woudn't; though its hard to tell what you're doing wrong without a video.

For me what I found is the most important aspect of the 2handed backhand is the hip rotation, that is where your power comes from. to do this though, you must make sure your hip is actually rotating.

I didn't realize until my coach told me and fixed it was that my hips were very locked.

Roy125
11-23-2009, 08:15 PM
It's the most important aspect? I thought that the shoulders were.

Jonny S&V
11-23-2009, 08:19 PM

If you're using your shoulders on a two-handed backhand, no wonder you seem "out of sync." The core should be the main thing utilized, along with the left hand. Try to hit a lefty, eastern forehand. Make sure that you choke up to where your left hand would be on a two-hander, and try to follow through around your opposite shoulder. Than, after you get this down, add the right arm and try to coordinate your movements smoothly, not worrying about power or depth at the beginning.

Roy125
11-23-2009, 08:22 PM