PDA

View Full Version : Big Serve = Dislocated Shoulder

mekkio
11-27-2009, 02:11 PM
Was at a tennis clinic a couple of weeks ago and the instructor was telling me to really "extend and snap" on my serve. I hit a few good, fast serves then crushed a monster and dislocated my shoulder! I've never done it before, but knew right away that this is what happened. Walked around for 5 minutes looking for someone that knew how to pop it back in when it slid back on it's own.

Have you ever heard of this? It totally freaked out the tennis instructor :shock: I've been in physio, and all things considered, the shoulder is feeling pretty good, but probably no tennis for awhile. :(

LeeD
11-27-2009, 02:20 PM
Sure, you took his "instructions to heart" totally and without regard for your physical state. Any time your mind gets left out of the physical equation, an injury can happen.
So when your coach tells you to run your butt off for EVERY shot, do you?
Gotta think for yourself sometimes.

charliefedererer
11-27-2009, 02:36 PM
Too bad about the shoulder.

You really should get medical attention and find out when you can start a shoulder strengthening program that will work all the muscles around the shoulder, and likely will look a lot like this: www.asmi.org/SportsMed/media/thrower10.swf

mekkio
11-27-2009, 09:09 PM
Sure, you took his "instructions to heart" totally and without regard for your physical state. Any time your mind gets left out of the physical equation, an injury can happen.
So when your coach tells you to run your butt off for EVERY shot, do you?
Gotta think for yourself sometimes.

Please don't get me wrong here: I'm not blaming the instructor at all. While I obviously pushed myself too hard, the instruction was very helpful, and if I can get over the fear, think that my serve will improve with the advice.

I mostly posted just because it seemed like a pretty odd occurrence.

mawashi
11-28-2009, 01:43 AM