PDA

View Full Version : Musical instrument for an absolute beginner.

CounterPusher
11-30-2009, 10:56 AM
I have neither learned music/musical instrument nor have I listened to much music (at a serious level) up until now. Strange, isn't it? That's just the way it happened.

What would be your recommendation to me for a musical instrument? I can possibly practice 2-3 hours a weeks. I am not into drums. I like piano and saxophone. I am sure both require at least a couple years of learning before I can get some music out of them. It seems to me that guitar and violin may be harder to learn than piano and saxophone.

Your input is highly appreciated.

malakas
11-30-2009, 11:02 AM
Choose the one that you LIKE the most.You said you like piano and saxophone so there.:)

Dedans Penthouse
11-30-2009, 11:09 AM
Recorder..

CounterPusher
11-30-2009, 11:10 AM
I did a search about this after I started the thread and found some really good perspectives about this at http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20061114090143AAxWWhd

Regardless, I am still interested in knowing which instrument you guys recommend. Thanks.

CounterPusher
11-30-2009, 11:16 AM
This will be a purely recreational venture. No plans to make a living or get admitted to college with this.

BigServer1
11-30-2009, 11:17 AM
My biggest regret musically was picking the guitar over the piano...There is so much you can do with a background in piano, and the stuff that you learn in terms of reading music and chordal structure/progressions will also help if you want to pick up any other instrument as well.

Camilio Pascual
11-30-2009, 11:18 AM
Hint: What do you call a person who lives with four musicians?
Da-dum.

jmverdugo
11-30-2009, 11:20 AM