PDA

View Full Version : Video: 2 hand or 1 handed backhand?

willroc7
12-05-2009, 11:27 AM
Greetings. I recently switched to a one handed backhand after played with 2 hands since I started playing 10+ years ago (yes, I should be much better than I am now). Now that I've had some time to learn and play with the shot, I'm still having trouble deciding which one to use. Here is a quick video with a couple looks at both strokes. Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Cheers!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CXDWPYZjQLA

Netspirit
12-05-2009, 12:12 PM
I like your two hander more, personally. It looks more natural.

With your one-hander you do not seem to step forward much (you continue to rely on your upper body rotation), your contact point is close to your body, you do not counter-balance with your left arm.

But don't give a sh*t about what people think and use whatever pleases you more. I assume you play for fun.

Pay attention to your footwork though. You have no split-step whatsoever, and you do not bend your knees enough to get under lower balls.

maverick66
12-05-2009, 12:19 PM
Pay attention to your footwork though. You have no split-step whatsoever, and you do not bend your knees enough to get under lower balls.

His preparation on the two hander was much better. He was late on a few of the 1 handers and that was due to his prep time and footwork not being good. I would stick to the 2 hands myself as it was a much better shot overall. The onehander just looks like breakdown city.

LeeD
12-05-2009, 02:44 PM
Seems you're a quick study with the 1HBH, while the 2hbh has been your backhand for all those 10 years.
Use the one that YOU feel is more consistent, is stronger, and can hit more variety of shots.

aimr75
12-05-2009, 03:39 PM
as the others have mentioned, the 2 hander looks to be your better shot

Recon
12-05-2009, 03:51 PM