PDA

View Full Version : My First USTA Sanctioned Tourney coming up

Duane
12-09-2009, 07:00 PM
Greetings everyone. I am new here and wanted to get your thoughts about something.

I have played tennis most of my younger years. I am presently 53 years old and have not played a real tennis match with anyone in over 10 years. I had played in a mediocre league where I won only about 80% of my matches about 10 years ago. I would say at the time it was probably a "B" league.

I did play in High School and went to regionals in class A schools but did not make the state playoffs. I played for a few years once I got out of high school but never really won anything to speak of.

About 2 months ago I started playing (practicing) again and found that I am not as rusty as I would have thought. My first serve has lost some of it's speed but it is fairly consistent and my second serve is still consistent with a high kick spin. I can rally from the baseline from either side back hand and forehand where I hit heavy topspin from both sides. (hey I learned to play by studying Guillermos' backhand and Borgs forehand) I usually always hit topspin from forehand side and will play a slice at times from my backhand side. I have a decent overhead, can lob ok, volley fairly decent and can cover the net pretty well. I hit moderately to hard with good consistency from the baseline and can place balls fairly accurately.

One of the problems I do have is my knees. They have gotten very weak in my old age and my court coverage is somewhat hindered. I can still cover the court but with difficulty at times because of my knees. I wouldn't want to be in a hard fought match and it go 3 sets because I think my knees would not be able to take it.

Here is the dilemna (other than the knees):