PDA

View Full Version : My backhand --- let me have it (vid)

guedoguedo
12-12-2009, 09:21 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eCOvMXdJS4 Some doubles points

http://www.vimeo.com/8145826 singles and rallying

2hbh was never a natural stroke for me and as a result looks pretty stiff. I think I am also hitting the ball a little early...anyway let me know if you have any helpful observations

Blake0
12-12-2009, 01:30 PM
You're right, your 2hbh doesnt look very fluid. Not really a 2hbh expert but watch this vid and it might help?
http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=xstf#p/u/0/2PvSJP7CRZM

Slazenger07
12-12-2009, 02:06 PM
From the few that I saw Id say the whole motion looks stiff and there wasnt much follow through, Idk if thats just cause you were returning fast serves or if its always like that.

Being a one-hander myself Im no expert on a two-hander but Id say make sure you focus on getting a good follow through, stopping the racquet head too soon will rob you of power.

What problems do you have with your backhand? landing balls too short, deep, lack of control?

CallOfBooty
12-12-2009, 04:43 PM
The first thing you really need to work on is the follow through. Your follow through isn't bad, but you don't have one! You want to be finishing across your opposite shoulder. I see that you are left handed, so you want to finish your swing above your left shoulder.

Another thing is that your racket face is too open and you are scooping the ball up. You want to make it more closed so that you can brush over the ball with a faster swing.

Your 2HBH is also left hand dominant from what I saw. Your right hand lets go of the racket as you go through your shot. You want to make sure that your right hand leads the shot. Your left hand is there for support so it can guide your right hand throughout the shot.