PDA

View Full Version : Vitamin D and athletic performance.

Talker
12-14-2009, 06:59 PM
I've been keeping an eye on vitamin D for a few years. There's some very strong studies about the benefits. Google "vitamin d benefits".

One of the more interesting articles was the increase of athletic performance, reflexes, jumping height, etc. All of these increased with healthy doses of vitamin D. The old amounts of vitD requirements are being updated, in some cases calling for 10 to 20 times of the old amount (400IU).

Then there are other studies showing greatly reduced cancer rates, diabetes, etc.

Most of these studies have been recent, but others are relatively old but have been ignored.

http://www.vitamindcouncil.org/newsletter/2007-mar.shtml

One interesting area is the relation of vitD to the common cold, some doctors are saying that with a daily dose of 5000 IU they have not seen any of their patients come down with a cold/flu.

The best way to test your levels is with a 25(OH)D test.
The optimum levels are reported to be 50-80 ng/ml.

Here's another site for athletic performance.
http://www.tmuscle.com/free_online_article/sports_body_training_performance_nutrition/d_is_for_doping

charliefedererer
12-15-2009, 07:42 AM
Vitamin D usually is made naturally in the body by a process where sunlight converts a cholesteral-like molecule into Vitamin D.
Vitamin D deficiencies are becoming more common as more and more people intentionally avoid the sun, are using sunscreens or just stay inside working and playing on their electronic devices.
Also, with the widespread availability of Vitamin D testing, it has become better appreciated just how many have suboptimal levels of Vitamin D.
Vitamin D is not in many foods, although some is added to milk and it is plentiful in fish like salmon.
But my whole family supplements their Vitamin D intake with a daily multivitamin and a calcium/Vitamin D tablet.

Talker
12-15-2009, 08:46 AM