PDA

View Full Version : Like Big Ace after 10-20 hrs: What's Wrong?

jmhs
12-16-2009, 04:33 PM
Sorry to overlap on so many posts about when poly strings go dead, but I seem to play my best tennis (I'm 4.5-5.0 aggressive baseliner) between 10-22 hours of Big Ace 1.25 strung at 54 on my Head Mid+. The string is supposedly dead (it hasn't yet moved...usually breaks at around 22 hours or so), and has lost elasticity and tension. I guess others would tell me I might be putting my arm in danger.

I'm not that experienced with analyzing string. I have tried "better" quality poly (e.g., Black Code and Pro Line II), but I can hit big and with more consistency with Big Ace.

Just curious, why would I play my best tennis when the string is supposedly dead? I hit through the ball pretty well on both sides...a fairly flat ball...is it simply that I get more control hitting a penetrating ball with dead strings? Thanks in advance.

ClubHoUno
12-16-2009, 06:21 PM
You're a stringers worst nightmare.
You love dead strings and plays your best with them.

You don't belong in here - GO AWAY PLEASE ;)

Try use string savers in your Big Ace and you can play more than 50 hours before your strings will break.

2 of my tennis buddeys feel just like you, they can't feel their strings are dead and love the feel and don't change strings before They break after 50+ hours

jmhs
12-16-2009, 07:22 PM
You're a stringers worst nightmare.
You love dead strings and plays your best with them.

You don't belong in here - GO AWAY PLEASE ;)

Try use string savers in your Big Ace and you can play more than 50 hours before your strings will break.

2 of my tennis buddeys feel just like you, they can't feel their strings are dead and love the feel and don't change strings before They break after 50+ hours

Good stuff. The funny part is that if I think about this more, I'll begin to play crappy with my BA after 10 hrs and be cutting them out like everyone else.

Do your buddies play wth poly or gut?